Main Street Murfreesboro's Annual Meeting
February 26, 2020

The 2020 Main Street Murfreesboro Board of Directors

February 26, 2020, Carriage Lane Reception House, Murfreesboro, TN:

What a wonderful celebration of the accomplishments of dedicated volunteers and staff  of Main Street Murfreesboro!

Murfreesboro’s Carriage Lane Reception House provided the perfect backdrop for our mission statement: “to maintain, enhance, and promote the downtown as the heart of our community”.

(From It’s hard to imagine that 35-years have passed since the Main Street Program stirred the excitement of downtown business owners and a passion to renovate the structures in the uptown area to their original beauty. Main Street Murfreesboro celebrated three and a half decades Tuesday with its Annual Meeting at the Carriage Lane Inn, 337 East Burton Street.

2020 Downtown Business of the Year
Garage Barre & Bike

Honors for the Downtown Business of the Year went to Lacey Garrett and Kirby Dudley at the Garage Barre & Bike,
a woman’s fitness center at the corner of South Church and Vine.

2020 Downtown Design Award

The 2020 Downtown Design Award was presented to Roger and Kimberly Hopkins, wo re-imagined and renovated the former phone company and medical clininc at 527 North Maple Street.  Roger introduced the new tenants.

According to the Autism in Motion website, when a child has autism, small changes can add up to big victories.  They use a method of testing and procedures known as applied Behavior Analysis.

2020 Downtown Doug Young Leadership Award

The 2020 Doug Young Downtown Leadership Award was presented to Brian Robertson, who is retiring from Rutherford County government.  Brian  started the county’s centralized technology program in 1996.  In addition, Robertson served as Main Street’s board chair.

In the business portion of Main Street’s annual meeting, the
following persons were elected to serve three-year terms on the board:

  • Ashley McDonald, Rutherford County
  • Greg McKnight, City of Murfreesboro
  • Stephanie Kusch, at large
  • Kirk Garrett, financial institution
  • Patrick McCammack, at large


Reappointments for another 3-year term:

  • Chantho Sourinho, Rutherford County
  • Randy Caldwell, downtown business
  • Tab Talbott, at large



  • Randy Caldwell, chair
  • Tab Talbott, vice chair
  • Sean Gilliland, treasurer
  • Gloria Bonner, secretary
  • Bill Jakes, past chair


Returning Board Members:

  • Chris Lilly, City of Murfreesboro
  • Bill Shacklett, downtown property owner
  • Susan Grear, downtown business owner
  • Sharon Fitgerald, at large
  • Ron Taylor, at large